Click for Aitkin, Minnesota Forecast

  Contact Us





Aitkin County Minnesota

Aitkin County is a county located in the U.S. state of Minnesota. As of 2000, the population is 15,301. Its county seat is Aitkin6. A portion of the Mille Lacs Indian Reservation is in the county.
Aitkin County was established in 1857 as Aiken County and had a spelling change of its name to the current spelling in 1872. Aitkin County was named after William Alexander Aitkin, a fur trader for the American Fur Company, under John Jacob Astor. Aiken County originally consisted of the 17 townships closest to Mille Lacs Lake.

It acquired out-lands of Ramsey and Pine Counties to its north and east. It was reorganized in 1871, taking up lands from Cass and Itasca Counties and losing a point located in the southwestern corner to Crow Wing County to form its current boundaries.

Aitkin County official website

Aitkin County Communities
Aitkin Glen McGrath Tamarack
Bain Hill City McGregor Thor
Ball Bluff Jacobson Minnewawa Waukenabo
Bennettville Lawler Palisade  
Dad's Corner Libby Pliny  
East Lake Malmo Swatara  

Minnesota State Highway Map

1895 Map of Aitkin County   Home
Page   Contact Us   Privacy



2004 Lakeweb1 Internet Services
All Rights Reserved