Contact Us
  Minnesota Gift Guide

Amiret Guide:
  Photo Gallery
  Post Office
  Street Map
  Health Care
  Aerial Photo
  Topographic Map

Lakeweb1 Internet Services
All Rights Reserved

DCMA, Defamation, Copyright and Trademark Infingement Policy



Do you have photos, historical accounts or other items pertaining to the Amiret area? Would you like to share this historical information with the world? would like to publish your Amiret photos (current or historical) or historical accounts on this website. Original materials can be returned and your privacy will be respected.

Contact us









Amiret Minnesota History

From History of Lyon County Minnesota
Written by Arthur P. Rose, published in 1912

The township which is now designated Amiret dates its existence from March 17. 1874. when the County Board, upon the petition of Horace N. Randall and others, authorized its citizens to organize. For several years the precinct bore the name Madison, but in 1879, by legislative act. its name was changed to Amiret, to correspond with the name of the village within its boundaries. 29 The first town meeting was held at the store of William Coburn April 7. 1874. S. S. Truax, J. H. Williams and H. N. Randall were judges of the election then held and William Coburn was clerk.

The first officers chosen were as follows: James Mitchell, Jr., chairman; Lafayette Grover and David Hawks, supervisors; William Coburn, clerk: S. S. Truax, treasurer; J. H. Williams, assessor; John Taylor, justice of the peace; Luther Mason, constable. 30 To the following early settlers of Amiret township government land titles were granted:

Henry Borchert (30), William Doxie (6), Charles Donaldson (22), George W. Donaldson (22), Simeon S. Goodrich (12), Philo Hall (14), Isaiah D. Hetric (24), David Hawks (14). William Harrison (32), James Hopkins (30), Beers Johnson (30), Eliza A. Kennedy (34), Jacob Kline (28), N. Leavitt (26), Jane Mitchell

The farming population of Monroe township in 1884 was composed of the following: C. Reggie, E. W. Ladd, J. Jones, Jessup & Walsh, C. \Y. Van Dusen. \Y. Northrup, James Thomson, J. W. Tyson, Philip Peregrine, B. R. Bass, E. W. Glvnn, I. Grover, J. Glynn, J. F. Durst, J. P. Davis, Rees Davis, R. H. Lawrence, Martin Larsen, Gulbrand Larsen, Elias Jones, T. Larson, Nevius Brothers, J. R. Mullen, J. B. Mullen, J. B. Deal, J. L. Craig, J. C. Tweet, R. Cavanaugh, N. H. Starr, C. Muediking, Wyatt Moulton, H. R. Hughes, Rees Price, W. H. Morgan, Ole Amundson, Ole Olsen, Charles C. Warren, A. Erlandson, Louis Rialson. S. D. Peterson, T. Lewis, Ole Liaison. W. S. Moses, W. Henning, J. Moline, J. S. Wilniarth, H. H. Titus. Levi Montgomery, Ole Johnson, J. J. Randall, ('. Christianson, Ole Anderson, Ole Helgeson, Andrew Christensen, Mrs. R. Sessions, E. D. Evans, G. O. Miller, A. Amendsen, H. Amundson, J. Jacobson, H. .Moline, Ellef Anderson, J. Retz, Schmitz.

 The village was named in honor of Amiretta Sykes, wife of M. I. Sykes, vice president of the Chicago ifc Northwestern Railroad Company and also of the Winona & St. Peter Railroad Company.


(30), Luther Mason (20), Saira H. Preston (26), J. C. Plumseth (28), Charles P. Silloway (22), O. W. Walsh (34), Hamilton Drake (28), Merritt Shaw (18), James Mitchell (30), Peter McKeever (30), Frederick A. Woodruff (2), Joseph Connelly (30), Valentine O. Cove}' (10), James W. Drew (4), Jasper L. Havens (24), Don D. Harding (28), Calvin Maydole (18), Franklin G. Cahow (12), Luvina Devens (10), Ariel H. Wellman (26), William Coburn (10), Oliver P. Ball (4), Joseph Fredenburg (2), Alfred Nichols (20), George Beck (18), Daniel Warn (24), Nelson Johnson (18), John W. Taylor (14), Joseph B. Shepard (4), George W. Smith (8), James Struthers (8), Joseph Shake (6), Horace N. Randall (14-2), Henry C. Maydole (6), Isaac C. Seeley (8), Benjamin R. Bass (6), James D. Bevier (24), Sidnev N. Lund (24), John B. Martin (24), Ambrose N. Smith (18), Jacob Devens (4), James Mitchell, Jr. (4), Ephraim Skyhawk (2), Abraham V. Brown (10), John Sherman (12), Eugene E. Harding (20), Homer C. Swift (8), Emery J. York (26), Lewis F. Rowell (10), Thomas Johnson (24), Charles Mason (20), Burton A. Drake (6), Perrv D. Gross (20), Charles F. Whipple (28), Andrew Purves (18), John D. Owens (32), Alexander Kennedy (12), Joel H. Harris (32), Louis Michel (6), Gardner F. Harding (34). 31


    Home Page    Contact Us    Privacy



2004-2021 Lakeweb1 Internet Services All Rights Reserved