Click for Grand Rapids, Minnesota Forecast

  Contact Us

Itasca County Minnesota

Itasca County is a county located in the U.S. state of Minnesota. It is named after Lake Itasca, which is in turn a shortened version the Latin words veritas caput, meaning true head, a reference to the source of the Mississippi River. As of 2000, the population was 43,992. Its county seat is Grand Rapids6. Portions of the Bois Forte and Leech Lake Indian reservations are in the county.
The county (originally much larger) was first formed in 1849, upon the creation of Minnesota Territory, from the Minnesota portion of La Pointe County, Wisconsin.

Itasca County government’s website

Itasca County Communities
Balsam Coleraine Lake Jessie Squaw Lake
Bigfork Craigville La Prairie Suomi
Blackberry Deer River Marble Taconite
Bovey Effie Marcell Warba
Bowstring Goodland Max Wawina
Calumet Grand Rapids Nashwauk Wirt
Cohasset Keewatin Sand Lake Zemple

Minnesota State Highway Map

1895 Map of Itasca County

[Note: In 1895, Itasca County included what is now Koochiching County]   Home
Page   Contact Us   Privacy



© 2004 Lakeweb1 Internet Services
All Rights Reserved